What's the normal respirations for a dog?

Dogs at rest have a normal respiration rate of 10 to 35 breaths per minute. The average dog at rest takes 24 breaths per minute. To check the respiration rate, count chest movements for 15 seconds and multiply by four to get total number of breaths per minute. Shallow or slow breathing is a concern.