What's the difference between paternal and maternal?

Both words, paternal and maternal, come from the Latin “pater” for father and “mater” for mother, respectively. The suffix “-al” means pertaining to. Thus paternal denotes something pertaining to a father and maternal denotes something pertaining to a mother.