Why is doctor pepper named doctor pepper?

A pharmacist named Charles Alderton created Dr Pepper in 1885. Alderton worked at a drugstore in Waco, Texas, owned by Wade Morrison. Legend has it that Morrison named it "Dr. Pepper" after the father of a young girl he was once in love with.