What's the proper way to dispose of american flag?

Anything that does not offend feelings of people dealing with it. As with any other symbol, the actual procedure may be OK with some people and offending to others. Since 1937 there is a resolution of The American Legion describing the ceremony to destroy it by burning, and it is a widely accepted.