Is the word dad capitalized?

The word dad is only capitalized when used as a personal noun, like, "That is Dad."

---

You should only capitalize "mom" and "dad" when they are used as a name. Whenever they are preceded by "my" they should not be capitalized. For example, when writing "I love you, Mom," you would capitalize "mom" because "Mom" is used as a name.