What's the difference between a green pepper and a red pepper?

The red pepper is the mature version of the green pepper. They both originate from the same plant, the green version is picked before fully ripening.

---

Both are bell peppers, but green peppers are picked before they ripen. Red bell peppers start out green, but they are allowed to ripen long enough to turn red before being picked.