What's a pettit juror?

A petit juror is one who serves on a petit jury. A petit (small) jury produce a verdict for a single trial, where a grand jury determines whether cases have sufficient merit for indictment, often for a six month period. Grand juries typically have 23 members; petit juries rarely have more than 12.