What is a filter fish?

Gefilte fish translates from Yiddish as "stuffed fish." That’s because the dish, which is made by grinding up deboned fish (usually carp, whitefish, mullet, and pike) and adding filler ingredients like breadcrumbs, eggs, and vegetable scraps.