Is watermelon a tropical fruit?

Watermelon is a tropical fruit, and belongs to the family Cucurbitaceae. Watermelon is believed to have originated in the Kalahari region (Botswana, Namibia and South Africa) or northeastern Africa, and the fruit was first cultivated in Egypt more than 5,000 years ago

---

Watermelon is a tropical fruit, and belongs to the family Cucurbitaceae. Watermelon is believed to have originated in the Kalahari region (Botswana, Namibia and South Africa) or northeastern Africa, and the fruit was first cultivated in Egypt more than 5,000 years ago