Why does corn have strings?

Corn silk is a common name for the shiny, thread-like, weak fibers that grow as part of ears of corn. Corn silk is part stigma and part style, providing a female flower surface to which pollen grains can adhere and defining the lengthy path through which the pollen must transmit its genetic material