What does the a. r. in a. r. fifteen stand for?

A.R. stands for ArmaLite Rifle after the manufacturer who produced these rifles in the 1950’s. It does not stand for “assault rifle”.

---

A common misconception is that the AR stands for "assault rifle." In reality, it was a code for the name of the original manufacturer, Armalite.