Is chocolate considered a fruit?

Is chocolate considered a fruit? Cacao (or cocoa) beans are technically not beans, but rather the seeds of the fruit of the Theobroma cacao tree. The pod shaped fruit is botanically classified as berry-like and each pod produces approximately 35-50 seeds surrounded by a sweet pulp