How do you do a hot compress?

Fill the bowl with water that feels hot, but not scalding, to the touch. Soak the towel in the hot water, wringing out the excess. Fold the towel into a square and apply it to the area that's in pain. Hold the towel to your skin for up to 20 minutes at a time.