What's the opposite of a defendant?

In a civil case the opposite of defendant is plaintiff. The plaintiff is the person/people that filed the case with the courts. In a criminal case the opposite of defendant is the prosecution. The prosecution is government filing charges again the accused for whatever crime was broken.