What is steelhead fish?

Steelhead are native rainbow trout, which migrate to the ocean as juvenile fish and return to fresh water as adults to spawn. All steelhead trout hatch in gravel-bottomed, fast-flowing, well-oxygenated rivers and streams. Some stay in fresh water all their lives, and are called rainbow trout.