What is a gooch catfish?

The goonch is a very large species of catfish found in rivers in the Indian Subcontinent. It can reach up to 6.6 ft in length, and weigh over 200 pounds. This fish was blamed for a series of fatal attacks on humans in three villages on the banks of the Kali River in India, between 1998 and 2007.