What's a lava lamp?

A lava lamp is a decorative lamp that has two immiscible liquids in a sealed cylinder. As it heats up from a light bulb in the bottom, the heavier liquid rises up in colorful blobs, which then sink back down as they cool. The motion is fascinating to watch.

---

a transparent electric lamp containing a viscous liquid in which a brightly colored waxy substance is suspended, rising and falling in irregular and constantly changing shapes.