What is the donner family?

In 1846, ~90 emigrants headed west. Jacob and George Donner attempted to take a new shorter route to California. They became trapped by heavy snowfall high in Sierra Nevada Mountains and did cannibalism to survive through the winter, only half of the group reached California the following year.