How does a earthquake happen?

A fault is a fracture between two blocks of rock called tectonic plates. These plates are always moving, but friction normally holds them in place at the edges. When stress on the edge overcomes friction, the plates lip suddenly, releasing energy in waves, which we feel as an earthquake.