What's the difference between a lake and a reservoir?

Lakes are large bodies of standing water, either formed naturally or man-made for amenity purposes, with water levels not fluctuating to any great extent. A reservoir is a manmade lake that is created when a dam is built on a river. River water backs up behind the dam creating a reservoir.