How can you tell the difference between a boy butterfly and a girl butterfly?

Males have a small black spot on the top surface of the hindwing. Females do not. You can see the spot when the wings are open; sometimes it's faintly visible when the wings are closed, too. Males also have slightly thinner wing veins.