When did microwave ovens come out?

Raytheon introduced a commercial microwave oven, the 1161 Radarange, in 1954. Tappan introduced a large 220-volt wall unit as a home microwave oven in 1955. The countertop microwave oven was introduced in 1967 by the Amana Corporation.