What is the meaning of festivus?

The Latin word festivus means "excellent, jovial, lively", and derives from festus, meaning "joyous; holiday, feast day". Festivus is also a secular holiday celebrated on December 23 as an alternative to the pressures and commercialism of the Christmas season.

---

Festivus is defined as a secular holiday celebrated on Dec. 23 that is essentially anti-Christmas, a backlash to the commercialization of Christmas and involves the airing of grievances. The term was first used by Frank Costanza (father of principle character George Costanza)