How long do chihuahuas sleep?

On average, 12 to 14 hours per day. However even 18 hours is not considered abnormal for a Chihuahua. This includes naps.There are 2 types of sleeping. One is a lighter sleep (called slow wave ) and the other is the deeper sleep (known as REM - Rapid Eye Movement).