What is the shiatsu massage?

Shiatsu is a form of Japanese bodywork based on concepts in traditional Chinese medicine such as the use of chi meridians. Shiatsu derives from a Japanese massage modality called anma. There is no good evidence that shiatsu is an effective medical treatment however.