What is the barbra seville?

The Barber of Seville is an opera. First as The Barber of Seville or the Useless Precaution, a French work by Pierre Beaumarche in 1772 & formally produced in 1775. The Italian version by Gioachino Rossini premiered in 1816. Both openings met terrible reviews but were revised to good acclaim.