What is a round steak?

A round steak is a beef steak from the "round", the rear leg of the cow. ... Round steak is commonly prepared with slow moist-heat methods including braising, to tenderize the meat and maintain moisture. The cut is often sliced thin, then dried or smoked at low temperature to make jerky.