How fast do ants breathe?

Ants, like all insects, don’t have lungs, breathing through tiny holes in their sides – spiracles – one pair per segment. These lead into a network of tiny tubes – tracheae – permeating their entire body, getting narrower and narrower, supplying oxygen right to the tissues that use it.