Is lamb red meat or white meat?

Lamb is a "red meat" because it's high in myoglobin, a protein in muscle that turns red when combined with oxygen. The same is true of beef, pork, and veal. Poultry is a so-called "white meat" because it has less myoglobin. One problem with red meat is that it is usually high in saturated fat.