How long is a cow's pregnancy?

Gestation length can last from 279 to 287 days. For most cow breeds, 283 days is common for the gestation period. Cows carrying bull calves tend to have longer gestation periods than cows carrying heifer calves.

---

Gestation length ranges from 279 to 287 days. For most breeds, 283 days would be common. Cows carrying bull calves tend to have a slightly longer gestation compared to cows carrying heifer calves.

---

A cow will be pregnant for an average of 283 days. Cows carrying boys (bulls) are usually pregnant for a few days longer than if carrying girls (heifers), and pregnancy time also varies somewhat by breed.