Is it normal for dogs to snore?

Just like with humans, snoring in dogs generally occurs when air movement is restricted in the nasal passageways or throat. Some dogs snore because they like to sleep on their back, so their tongue ends up partially blocking some of the air movement in their passageways.

---

In many cases, snoring in dogs is perfectly normal and harmless. Just as with people, snoring in dogs is a noise caused by vibration of the soft tissues in the mouth and throat. Breeds of dogs with short muzzles are more prone to snoring than those with longer muzzles.