Who sang the breaks in nineteen eighty?

"The Breaks" is a 1980 single by American rapper Kurtis Blow from his self-titled debut album. It peaked at #87 on the Billboard Hot 100. It was the first certified gold rap song, and the second certified gold 12 inch single in the history of music.