What is the substitution for bread flour?

If your recipe calls for bread flour & you don't have any, use an equal amount of all-purpose flour as a substitute. The only difference is All-purpose flour has between 8 & 11% protein, while bread flour has between 12 & 14%. The extra protein in bread flour results in a slightly higher rise.