Do you have to be an amateur to be in the olympics?

not any more. Other countries were bending the rules about amateurism and the Olympic Committee tried to balance off the needs (and wants) of the athletes to gain from their prowess while maintaining the 'purity' of athletes as amateurs. Eventually they bowed to the inevitable, and athletes are pro.