What is a congo line?

The conga line is a novelty line dance that comes from the Cuban carnival and was popular in the US in the 1930s and 1950s. The dancers form a processing line which would turn into a circle. It has three shuffle steps on the beat, followed by a kick that is slightly ahead of the fourth beat.