What are the muscles in your legs called?

The anterior muscles, such as the quadriceps femoris, iliopsoas, and sartorius, work as a group to flex the thigh at the hip and extend the leg at the knee. Posterior muscles, such as the hamstrings and gluteus maximus, produce the opposite motion.

---

There are many muscles in your legs. Some of them are the quadriceps, the vastus lateralis and vastus femoris, the hamstrings (3 separate muscles), the gastrocnemius, the soleus and the planteris. There is also an important tendon called the Achilles tendon in your heel.