How long are cats memories?

A cat's memory is at least 200 times better than a dog's. But as any cat owner knows, felines are more selective, and remember what they think is useful to them. Short term memory for a dog is about five minutes; cats remember much longer, up to 16 hours. Long term memory is harder to determine.