Who invented vanilla extract?

Spanish conquistador Hernán Cortés is credited with bringing vanilla to Europe from Mexico in the early 1500s. Originally believed to only have value as a perfume, it wasn't until 1519 that it was discovered to also be useful as a flavoring.