How much water do petunias need?

Petunias need to be watered every day for the best production of blossoms. If they are in a pot, you must check the soil carefully. Water it when the soil feels dry to the touch on top. Cut them back so they don't get leggy.

---

Newly planted petunias need evenly moist soil for the first few weeks after planting, to establish a healthy root system. Once established, reduce watering to once every seven to 10 days. Provide 1 to 2 inches of water at each irrigation,which is enough water to moisten the top 6 to 8 inches of soil