Where does ground pepper come from?

black pepper is a flowering vine in the family Piperaceae, cultivated for its fruit, known as a peppercorn, which is usually dried and used as a spice and seasoning. When fresh and fully mature, it is about 5 mm in diameter and dark red, and contains a single seed, like all drupes

---

Peppercorns grow on a flowering vine that can grow to over 12 feet tall with white or cream-colored blooms. It is grown in tropical regions, native to the Indian subcontinent and in Southeast Asia.