How much dried ginger do i substitute for fresh ginger?

In a pinch, Dr. Gourmet recommends substituting one half teaspoon of ground ginger for each 1 tablespoon fresh grated ginger. According to Dr. Gourmet, the best substitute for fresh ginger is ¼ cup crystallized ginger-with the sugar rinsed off-for every tablespoon of fresh ginger.