Why is antarctica so cold?

Antarctica lies in the southern pole region and therefore receives lesser sunlight or heat than other continents. Further, due to all the ice, much of even this heat gets reflected back to the atmosphere making it the area receiving the least net sunlight or heat.

---

Antarctica is cold for the same reason it gets chilly at night: the angle of the light rays from the sun are very indirect, just like when the sun gets closer to the horizon where you live. So it’s like that in Antarctica, but all the time.