How long does it take a monarch caterpillar to turn into a butterfly?

The process from egg to butterfly is weather dependent and also depends on the regional climate. It can take about four weeks in the peak of the summer in warmer climates. The egg takes 5 to 10 days, the larva to caterpillar and pupa to chrysalis each take about 10 to 14 days.