What's the difference between mezcal and tequila?

Tequila can only be made from the Blue Weber agave, which is also known as agave tequilana or simply blue agave. Mezcal can be made from various types of agave, it's processed differently, and it's not usually aged. A true mezcal is made with 100% agave, yet tequila only requires 50% agave content.