How many characters are in the pledge of allegiance?

159 characters: this has changed twice. The original pledge allegiance had 127 characters. In 1923, the words after "Flag" & before "the Republic" were added: "of the United States of America & to".This change added 33 characters.In 1954, 9 more were added the with words "under God" after "nation".

---

167 characters.