What's the difference between a made and a butler?

A butler is usually male, and in charge of male servants, while a housekeeper is usually a woman, and in charge of female servants. ... The butler was also the senior steward in a lascar ship's crew. Maid. A maid, or housemaid or maidservant, is a female domestic worker.

---

a maid is female a butler is male