How to get a feral cat to use a litter box?

A feral cat will use a litter box because it’s an instinctual behavior of all cats. However, if a feral cat is extremely fearful of its strange new environment, it might be too fearful to do so. Place a litter box wherever the cat is hiding to allow the cat to avoid exposing itself until it’s ready.