Why is wheat bread better than white bread?

Whole wheat bread tends to have a higher fiber content, and more micronutrients than white bread. Fortified white bread can close the gap between the two, but fiber tends to still be different. When comparing whole wheat directly against white bread, whole wheat appears to be better.