How big are hawks?

This depends on the species in question. The Ferruginous Hawk is the largest in North America averaging 22.5-25in long, & a 53-56in wingspan. The Sparrow Hawk, or American kestrel is the smallest hawk in America. The male averages from 8.7 to 12.2 inches in length, & a wingspan of 20–24 inches.