What does prejudice mean?

"Prejudice," spelled P-R-E-J-U-D-I-C-E, literally refers to the act of deciding a question before examining it. It's usually applied to cases of bias, where a person's perceived worth or culpability is affected by a demographic factor such as race, religion, or disability.